There is nothing wrong in speaking up
April 6, 2010, 1:22 am
Filed under: By Rachel Zeng, Singapore

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_STHh9PzedeY/TLUYyVioTSI/AAAAAAAAAAw/8CsqaKtyR5s/s1600/speakOut.jpgPeople have been questioning me about why I am ‘against the government’. They wonder why I bother to write a blog and they wonder why I bother to risk clashing with the authorities by going on the path of an activist. Most of them were curious, some of them were angry but in general, I know that they do care.

However despite knowing and appreciating the concern that they have for me, I cannot make myself stop what I have begun. Being part of activist groups is not a recent thing that happened. It just surfaced publicly over the past one and a half years, much to the disdain of some but they were not quite surprised.

I am not about to repeat all my justifications on why I get myself involved in challenging social and political norms because it will be ad nauseum for those who know me long enough. All I can really say here is that although I don’t like to be in the ‘limelight’, I just cannot stand sleeping on things that bother me too much, especially with regards to social political issues both locally and globally.

May I clarify that I am not against the government for the sake of it and it bothers me that people refer to the PAP as a government because they are not. Instead, the PAP is a political party that happens to run the government. They should not be seen as the absolute government but as civil citizens holding governmental jobs to serve the citizens of the country. When they are not doing a good job or when we have doubts about their policies, we should not just ‘shut up and sit down’. Rather, we should all make it our duty to speak up and question. There is really nothing wrong in that.

If we see the PAP as a political party instead of the absolute government, and along with that, find out more about the existing political parties that we have here in Singapore, we may find it easier to believe that change is really up to us.

Of course, I understand that different people believe in different ways of doing things. I am not asking everyone to join me on the path of activism because they might not find it comfortable to do so. What I am saying is that we should all take an interest in how our lives are being affected by the decisions made by the politicians running the country and speak up or question them when things don’t feel right. We should also seek to find out the truths beyond what has been written in our history textbooks and news presented by the media instead of taking everything they say as the ultimate truth and nothing more.

If we vote, believe and let the politicians lead our lives blindly and silently, we will never progress and things will never get better.

Instead, we will forever be lesser mortals, second class citizens and slaves of those living on the ivory towers. Is that what we are born to become?

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It is brave that you speak out.

However, everyone should be mindful of the ramification of the things they say, IMO.

Comment by Robert

I agree. At the same time, we must also be mindful of the ramifications for *not* speaking up.

Comment by Kai Xiong

[...] Countdown to Elections – TOC: Opposition parties go for the PAP jugular – Rachel Zeng: There is nothing wrong in speaking up [...]

Pingback by The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 6 Apr 2010

Amen.

Comment by Wanhin

That’s really eloquent.

Comment by Facebook Pal

Good post. That is the precise intention of a democracy, when people actually make the informed choice and take charge of the way they are governed. “If we see the PAP as a political party instead of the absolute government, and along with that, find out more about the existing political parties that we have here in Singapore, we may find it easier to believe that change is really up to us.” Well placed.

Comment by the Rudder

Hi Rachel,

Excellent post.
Congratulations and with best wishes alwys.

Comment by swee keat john

[...] walkabout – pictures and video – TOC: Opposition parties go for the PAP jugular – Rachel Zeng: There is nothing wrong in speaking up – Singapore Recalcitrant: Is the Opposition capable of epoch-making? – Singaporean Skeptic: What is [...]

Pingback by The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 15




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

