We, the Citizens pledge…
August 24, 2009, 7:12 pm
Filed under: From the blogs, Singapore

(From Sgpolitics.net)

By Dr Wong Wee Nam
22 Aug 2009

singapore_flagLike the majority of Singaporeans, I learned to say the National Pledge when I was in school. Since then I think I have lived by the vow that I had made. I am still committed to building a democratic society as I am to speaking out against injustice and inequality. To me a pledge is a solemn promise or a vow. It is not like a New Year’s resolution that you make on the first day of the year and forget it immediately the next day.

When Mr S Rajaratnam crafted the National Pledge, I don’t think he meant it to be just a New Year’s resolution. I believe he wrote it with conviction. It is not just an aspiration to be desired but a goal to be attained.

Read the rest of the article here.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

