Result of the appeal of Yong Vui Kong to be heard this coming Friday
May 11, 2010, 1:36 am
Filed under: By Rachel Zeng, Singapore Anti-Death Penalty Campaign

The image “https://i0.wp.com/sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs558.snc3/30512_392758262025_722142025_4535888_978114_n.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.Yesterday morning as my dad was driving me to work in his lorry, the news on radio had me distressed.

Law Minister K Shanmugam was reportedly to have been questioned about the mandatory death penalty and the case of Yong Vui Kong during a dialogue session at Siglap South Community Centre.

He replied saying that in order to protect thousands of lives that might be ruined by drug abuse, we have to treat drug trafficking seriously and ‘suggested’ that the mandatory death penalty should stay. He was also reported to have cited Sydney and New York as examples where thousands of lives have been ruined due to the free availability of drugs.

My heart sank at that very moment and I had a feeling that Yong’s fate may be revealed soon. However instead of being happy about it, I was suddenly depressed about what was reported because it did not sound good. There was not even a slightest bit of optimism left in me and I hope that the judgement will not be made soon.

Just as I was pondering about that in the evening, I received a message on my phone saying that the Court of Appeal will be delivering its judgement this coming Friday (14 May 2010) at 11am.

My goodness, I was shaking at the news but it did not surprise me.

The nervousness is tearing me apart right now but I know that the judgement will have to be read someday. At the moment, I am truly hoping for the best but deep down, I know that the worst may happen. I just hope that it won’t.

There are just so many other ways to prevent people from falling onto the path of drug abuse. It can be done through education, community projects, getting students to visit the DRCs and witnessing drug addicts in cold turkey etc etc… The government can also tap on such drug mules to get to the drug lord and cut the supply from the very beginning of the drug mule system and bring about better justice. They don’t have to send the drug mules to the gallows. It does not have to be so cold. Yong has already shown his remorse and stated clearly that he did not know that heroin is as harmful at all. He was just so naive and ignorant about drug trafficking laws that he just took up the task.

Drug lords will never feel remorseful about sending scapegoats to the gallows. In fact they will make use of this system to distract the authorities just to allow for other drug mules to pass through. Sending the drug mules who have been made used of by the drug lords to the gallows will not help improve things. In fact, it won’t change anything.

I am hoping that there is compassion within the judiciary system and I hope that the three judges will prove my bad feeling wrong. Imprison him, re-educate him or whatever but please, don’t hang him.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Man: Shanmugam’s Slippery Slope – groundnotes: Fuzzy Logic On The Death Penalty – Rachel Zeng: Result of the appeal of Yong Vui Kong to be heard this coming Friday – SpotlightOnSingapore: Capital punishment in Singapore for drug-related offences. – My Very Own […]

Pingback by The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 11 May 2010

Hi – I’m a Singaporean living in New York. It always amazes me when Singapore government officials cite big cities like New York and make passing comments about how ‘thousands of lives have been ruined due to the free availability of drugs’. That statement almost paints a picture of New York City as being ridden with drug addicts while in actuality, the city is perhaps one of the most well known cities in the world (more so than Singapore despite our government’s marketing efforts) and the so-called capital of industries like finance, fashion etc. So to other Singaporeans, please do not make comments which come off sounding very ignorant and condescending.

That being said, it is very sad to know that while Singapore aspires to be the leader in most industries and brand its country as tourist and foreigner-friendly, its human rights policy has not really progressed. While I do not condone drug use, the mandatory death penalty for drug trafficking certainly goes against human rights and has not conclusively proven to be a deterrent against drug abuse.

I have been closely following the case of Yong Vui Kong and it’s been an emotional ride for me. I was elated at the stays of execution but my elations are momentarily dampened by ignorant comments like these. And I find it very disheartening to know that the majority of laymen in Singapore will likely agree with Law Minister K Shanmugam’s rationale only because they don’t care or they don’t know any better.

Comment by GA

Rachel,

I work for the International Harm Reduction Association. We are putting out a statement out on Friday which I forward on to you and Monday. Feel free to distribute however you like. Maybe send me an email address so I can send it to you if that´s easier. Best,

Michael

Comment by Michael Kessler

May the Great Cosmic Mother saves Vui Kong..
Jai Maha Kali..

Comment by guycelestial




Leave a Reply

