Statement by SADPC regarding the judgement of Singapore’s High Court on 13 August 2010
August 15, 2010, 12:42 pm
Filed under: Singapore Anti-Death Penalty Campaign

The Singapore Anti-Death Penalty Campaign (SADPC) wishes to express its deepest disappointment over the judgement of the High Court on Friday, 13 August 2010, stating that the President has no discretion in clemency appeals and that the Cabinet has sole authority in the matter.

We have also found it very disquieting that the Court regards the remarks by the Law Minister as not being pre-judicial to the clemency process.

Furthermore we are not too pleased to learn that Mr. Siew Kum Hong, former Nominated Member of Parliament, has put on record that the whole process has been fair to Yong Vui Kong.

We sincerely invite Mr. Siew and anyone who disagrees with us on this issue to feel free to turn up at our future forums and events to have their contrary views in line with the Minister’s heard.


14 Comments so far
Leave a comment

shame shame……….thou shall not kill…the WHOLE cabinet + Nathan have blood on their hands..
their judgement Day will come !!!

Comment by gregLIM

The President is a titular Head of State. Totally. He exists for Artifice and Ceremony, only. He has no constitutional authority, whatsoever.

He is only a “rubber stamp”, and the Cabinet is the “ink”.

Comment by Mark

I don’t see why one ought to be disappointed by one man (president) not having discretionary powers in the matter. After all, he isn’t representative of the people as he isn’t elected.

What one should ensure is that the cabinet, which is the closest thing to being representative, takes into consideration the views of its masters in this issue. Disappointment should be levied, not in the face of the president not having discretionary powers in the matter, but the cabinet, and parliament, not considering the wishes of those whom put them in administration.

It’s contradictory to aspire toward democracy on the one hand, and bemoan an unelected representative not having discretionary powers.

Comment by ed

[…] (Full report) – Siew Kum Hong: Misunderstandings about the Singapore Constitution – Rachel Zeng: Statement by SADPC regarding the judgement of Singapore’s High Court on 13 August 2010 – For Want of a Better Title: The Power of Clemency – funny little world: “Cabinet clemency” […]

Pingback by 16 Aug 2010 « The Singapore Daily

“We sincerely invite Mr. Siew and anyone who disagrees with us on this issue to feel free to turn up at our future forums and events to have their contrary views in line with the Minister’s heard.”

How serious are you Rachel? If you are serious. I can speak directly to the Brotherhood Liaison abt this matter.

I happen to be one of their paid readers in their secured forums.

I also happen to know him quiet well.

However I first need assurances from you. Is it possible for you to guarantee me Rachel, that whatever they have to post will not be unilaterally censored as it has been the case with many of their postings in The Online Citizen.

It is fair to say, if the SADPC is allied to TOC, then I do not see how it is possible to get others who may have something valuable to contribute to this discussion to step forward.

Comment by Lee Pang Shio

Dear Lee Pang Shio,

This statement released by the SADPC includes an open invitation to those who have views that are different from ours to join us in discussion in our future events. This is a friendly invitation and not to be taken negatively as some sort of an arrogant challenge on our part. We always prefer to hear alternative or differing opinions in person so that we can clarify, discuss and learn from each other.

Anyone who is interested in knowing about future events can feel free to leave me their email addresses.

Anyway I do not know who the Brotherhood Liaison are and I do not like dealing with anonymous people. This is a personal preference, I am not saying this on behalf of SADPC and I don’t seek to say this in an offensive manner.

One clarification: SADPC is an independent group by the way but we do work with TOC, Lianianfilms and others because we share similar believes in certain matters and in this case, Yong Vui Kong. We are working alongside each other to keep him alive, to end MDP. However honestly the stand of SADPC is to work towards the abolishment of the death penalty as a whole.

Comment by rachelabsinthe

[…] Petition for clemency of Yong Vui Kong denied Posted on November 30, 2009 by Jacob 69er August 15, 2010: SADPC statement regarding the judgement of Singapore’s High Court on 13 August 2010 […]

Pingback by Petition for clemency of Yong Vui Kong denied | Jacob 69er

“Anyway I do not know who the Brotherhood Liaison are and I do not like dealing with anonymous people.”

Anonymous? Rachel, nice way to start the ball rolling by burning bridges, if you ask my personal opinion.

Personally, I think Lee is just trying to be helpful. No need to chew his head off.

Keep in nice.

Comment by passerby

I am a very straightforward person and I say what I think. Personally I don’t see how saying that the Brotherhood Liaison is anonymous may be perceived as ‘not nice’. It is my opinion and since I respect everyone’s opinions enough to approve the comments on here, I think my entitlement to personal opinions should be respected too.

Thanks for the advise though, but I prefer to work with people who I can match names to faces, not pseudonyms to air. It is a matter of personal preference but I am always open to working with anyone who wishes to stay anonymous publicly if they can reveal their identities to me in private. I have worked with so many, and if anyone is sincere enough to step forward to be made known to me in private, then I will be very happy to work with them while keeping their identities to myself.

I think it is just fair.🙂

Comment by rachelabsinthe

If you say they are anonymous 3 or 4 years ago. Everyone will agree.

But these days, they are no longer anonymous. There has been a shift.

In the past, we all assumed, people who are anonymous all have something to hide. But what if they happen to be better in every way? What if they hold a solution that we have never ever considered.

Rachel you should give them a chance.

This is one of the places they hang out.

http://dotseng.wordpress.com/2010/08/15/does-the-mandatory-in-the-death-penalty-smell-like-a-rat/

Trust me, you have nothing to lose but your chains.

Comment by nlboard

Hmmm.. I think I know who the Brotherhood is(TOC, Temasek Review and a few other places). Their articles are actually somewhat interesting and tend to lend a few shades to an existing picture. However, it’s their approach of “hacking into people’s WP blogs” that I’m not fully supportive of. No, I know that hacking has its uses but taking over people’s blogs so as to meet them mysteriously is kinda slightly dubious. Btw, don’t ask me how they did it as I’m not really informed about hacking. I’m just writing this here in good faith that no one will touch my accounts.

But whatever lahz, these are just my opinions. It’s for them to decide on their approaches and not for me to blabber about. So Rachelz, arhz, go think think and make up your mind lorz. Because it could be an interesting experience.

As for death penalty, I’m not in favour of death penalty for young traffickers. Repeated, perhaps. Drug lords, yes. War criminals, yes. Illegal arms manufacturers, quite definitely. Illegal arms dealers, depends on their role and involvement.

Though I still cannot understand why Singapore law rehabiliates terrorists convicted of multiple bombings and allows them to walk away. Is a death from a bombing less precious than a death from taking drugs? But yes, I’m very well aware that SG rehabs terrorists so that they can milk them for information on the different contacts from various networks. Looks like the war on terrorism is more important than the war on drugs. Why? Well because Singapore has good relations with the US, I guess. FTAs, sucking up to the FDA and so on. And also, Europe too. Big money, big businesses. I even heard from a bird that SG is an important naval base against China. Human rights in US and Europe is a selective process, not one of full entitlement to everybody regardless of country, ethnicity, etc.

Btw, I’ve heard about Singapore’s relations with Lo Hsing Han and Mugabe. I’m also somewhat aware of Singapore’s relations with NKorea though what monkey business they’re up to, I wouldn’t know. I did know that money has been passing from SG to NK. Evidence of money embezzling route or oversight by Singapore authorities? I doubt it’s the latter since NKorea is infamous for its list of crimes and Singapore prides itself on being strict. How far does the relationship with NKorea go anyways? I’m hoping that SG does not have a role in managing NKorea’s concentration camps. However, it’s most likely Singapore plays a rather complicated role with NKorea: playing the ally of the US and other Western nations and encouraging peace and reunification with SKorea while playing a role with NKorean politics.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CBYQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.strategicstudiesinstitute.army.mil%2Fpdffiles%2Fpub975.pdf&ei=ZIlrTNbLKpGEvAPFgsDyDw&usg=AFQjCNEKjhjz-T5XQa06GeWQSJ7Nsw0ZKg

http://english.donga.com/srv/service.php3?bicode=060000&biid=2006080539518

http://dailynk.com/english/read.php?cataId=nk00100&num=5596

Oh yah, btw, remember Singapore’s fast food shop in NKorea? (Waffletown?) Now we’ve started yet another partnership in NKorea.
http://dailynk.com/english/read.php?cataId=nk00100&num=5530

http://www.nkeconwatch.com/category/countries/singapore/

I also know that Singapore has been importing sand from Cambodia and here’s one tidbit: quite a few of the former Khmer Rouge members are very likely in the current government: as civil servants and even perhaps as Ministers. And this likely includes guards and other personnel from the infamous S21. I wonder if the Cambodian contacts with the SG govt includes some of these folks and whether it’s incidental, by selection or request.

http://www.alertnet.org/thenews/newsdesk/SGE66L0CX.htm

*sighs* Why does Singapore love to hang out with the mass murderers and the devils? Anyways, these details sort of complicate Singapore’s stands on the death penalty and its positions on drugs, arms trafficking and money embezzling. Furthermore is it fair for SG and also some Singaporeans to receive money that are likely the result of transaction of narcotics and illicit arms trading and so forth without any repercussions, when our country sends both the guilty and innocent to the death row for drug trafficking?

Btw, Rachel, eagerly awaiting your email reply.(You know who I am.)

Comment by Someone

Well I don’t think TOC and TR = Brotherhood. Perhaps I will believe if there is concrete prove. If they are both/ either, then I will be quite happy to work alongside with them.

I am terribly sorry… there are so many emails in my inbox everyday and there are so many people waiting for my replies… perhaps you can tell me who you are via email, that will be really helpful, because I really have no idea who this is.🙂

Thanks!

Comment by rachelabsinthe

[…] (Full report) – Siew Kum Hong: Misunderstandings about the Singapore Constitution – Rachel Zeng: Statement by SADPC regarding the judgement of Singapore’s High Court on 13 August 2010 – For Want of a Better Title: The Power of Clemency – funny little world: “Cabinet clemency” […]

Pingback by Weekly Roundup: Week 34 « The Singapore Daily

I suspect the brotherhood regularly use laughing gas, whenever they hack into other peoples sites. Otherwise how can you explain why they all look so happy or seem to be smiling from ear to ear when they get invaded.

Comment by National No Georgraphic




Leave a Reply

