Election fever (updated)
March 5, 2011, 3:20 am
Filed under: Singapore

(Note: Updates here might not be the latest as I am not always by the computer. Please take note of the date and time of this post. It shall be adjusted along with the date and time of the latest update. Thank you!)


The Electoral Boundaries Report was released on 24 February at 3.30pm and suddenly, the word ‘Elections’ is everywhere. Yes the General Elections is definitely coming, but the grand mystery behind the whole thing is the exact date which we will definitely not know til the last minute.

Meanwhile, let us look at what has been going on so far…

12 Single Member Constituencies (SMC)

In 2006: Only 9

New SMCs: Hong Kah North, Mountbatten, Pioneer, Punggol East, Radin Mas, Sengkang West, Whampoa and Yuhua

Existing SMCs: Bukit Panjang, Hougang, Joo Chiat and Potong Pasir

Gone with the wind: Chua Chu Kang, MacPherson, Nee Soon Central, Nee Soon East and Yio Chu Kang (bye bye Seng Han Thong?)

What does SMC mean? Click here for more information.

15 Group Representation Constituencies (GRC)

In  2006: Only 14

New GRCs: Chua Chu Kang, Nee Soon and Moulmein-Kallang

Gone with the wind: Hong Kah and Jalan Besar

GRCs with 4 MPs: Holland-Bukit Timah and Moulmein-Kallang

GRCs with 5 members: Chua Chu Kang, Nee Soon, Aljunied, Bishan-Toa Payoh, East Coast, Jurong, Marine Parade, Sembawang, Tampines, Tanjong Pagar and West Coast

GRCs with 6 MPs: Ang Mo Kio and Pasir Ris-Punggol

What is a GRC? Click here to find out!

Possible areas of interest (As of 5 March 2011)

Singapore Democratic Party – Bukit Panjang SMC, Whampoa SMC, Yuhua SMC, Holland-Bukit Timah GRC and Moulmein-Kallang GRC (11 seats)

The Reform Party: Hong Kah North SMC, Pioneer SMC, Radin Mas SMC, Chua Chu Kang GRC and West Coast GRC (13 seats)

Workers’ Party: Hougang SMC, Joo Chiat SMC, Punggol East SMC, Sengkang West SMC, Whampoa SMC, Moulmein-Kallang GRC, Aljunied GRC, East Coast GRC, Nee Soon GRC and Ang Mo Kio GRC (30 seats)

National Solidarity Party: Mountbatten SMC, Radin Mas SMC, Pioneer SMC, Whampoa SMC, Yuhua SMC, Moulmein-Kallang GRC, Jurong GRC, Marine Parade GRC, Tampines GRC and West Coast GRC (29 seats)

Singapore Democratic Alliance – Punggol East SMC, Radin Mas SMC and Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC (8 seats)

Singapore People’s PartyPotong Pasir SMC and Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC (5 seats)

Socialist FrontRadin Mas SMC and Whampoa SMC (2 seats)

Democratic Progressive PartyMarine Parade GRC (5 seats)

Areas where interest has yet been shown: Sembawang GRC and Tanjong Pagar GRC

Total seats to be contested by opposition parties: 77 out of 87

Latest (5 Mar, evening): Opposition parties agree to contest all seats.

(Updates have been italicised.)

Check which constituency you are in!

Check it out here. Singpass is required.

Where you will vote:

Right click on the following images, select ‘View image’ in order to view it enlarged. Thank you Jacob for the jpeg files!






Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: