For the record.
August 28, 2011, 4:20 am
Filed under: By Rachel Zeng, Singapore

Photo from New Asia Republic

To those who have accused Jee Say’s campaigners for robbing the votes off Tan Cheng Bock, I have one thing to say: Should there be only 2 candidates namely Tan Cheng Bock and Tony Tan, I would have written YAM AH MEE FOR PRESIDENT on my ballot paper.

My vote was given to Jee Say after due considerations, because he addressed issues close to my heart. It wasn’t robbed.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We should not overreact. The vast majority voted against the candidate of ruling party. The moderates and radicals can come together to win future elections. This is a good base for the 2016 elections.

Comment by Shafie Chong

Exactly. I think they were just being sore at losing by such a slim margin. I hope they will see that their behaviour is reflecting badly on them. I am sure Tan Cheng Bock is more gracious about it than them, afterall it has been such a good fight. They should pat themselves on the back instead of commenting so negatively (and childishly) on another group of campaigners/ voters.

Comment by rachelabsinthe

The way things went it was Tony versus the other three candidates and it was inevitable that the opposition votes were going to be split between the three . You don’t have to be a rocket scientist to figure that out. Singaporeans opposed to the PAP endorsed candidate have only themselves to blame for Tony Tan winning the Presidential election. Go buy heaps of tissues and wipe your tears. You’ve got him for 4 years inspite of all the negative propaganda against him. What a comedy!!

Comment by Jim Connor

1. I am not crying but am encouraged by the number of voters the rest had.

2. I voted for Jee Say not because he ran under the opposition ticket but because he brought up the issues I care about.

3. Being with an opposition party for only 4 months, I do not really see Jee Say as an opposition member. In fact, all 4 candidates were from the establishment, and I personally see them running on the same level.

4. Tony Tan had little negative publicity compared to the rest and he had so many endorsements from various ‘unions’.

5. Comedy? Narrow minded people makes the comedy.

6. Btw, I did not condemn the choices of those who voted for Tony Tan or Tan Cheng Bock, and am only stating my most honest opinions regarding my choice as well as the fact that people should stop the blaming game. So respect my choice here too. TCB and TT are too conservative for me and I do not believe in tactical voting. Sorry, maybe you should buy heaps of tissue instead coz I don’t see any reason in doing that.

Comment by rachelabsinthe

Y u like Yam so much. I thought he was the one who robbed WP of the open space and passed it to HDB? TT or TCB cannot be far worse than Yam.

Comment by meiming

At least he is more of an entertainer than TT and TCB, as far as I am aware of. And by the way, By the above blog post, I was indicating that I would like to spoil my vote. Plain obvious.

No vote from me for anyone who supports ISA and the death penalty. Including YAM.

Comment by rachelabsinthe




Leave a Reply

