Yong gets one week stay of execution
December 2, 2009, 11:20 pm
Filed under: By Rachel Zeng, Singapore, Singapore Anti-Death Penalty Campaign

At 10am today, I was at work but my heart was not totally there. I was hoping hard that M Ravi could convince the High Court to grant Yong Vui Kong a stay of execution. Throughout the whole time, I was updated by friends who were there. Apparently the court was filled with the media and public today! I was really happy to hear that but when the news came that Justice Woo Bih Li accepted Ravi’s request and granted Yong a week of execution, I heaved a huge sigh of relief.

Yong will be allowed to have his case heard before the Court of Appeal next Tuesday at 10am.

Once again, I hope for the best.

He is honestly too young and should be given a chance to repent and live.

You can read the article written by TOC here.

(Previously, I mentioned that Yong’s mother arrived in Singapore on Monday and would visit him on Tuesday. I got the days wrong, apologies for that!)


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] punishment – TOC: High Court grants rare stay of execution appeal – Rachel Zeng’s blog: Yong gets one week stay of execution – innersanctum: an open letter to fellow Christians on the death penalty – Jacob 69er: The late […]

Pingback by The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Daily SG: 3 Dec 2009

[…] is human too! – TOC: High Court grants rare stay of execution appeal – Rachel Zeng’s blog: Yong gets one week stay of execution – innersanctum: an open letter to fellow Christians on the death penalty – Jacob 69er: The late […]

Pingback by The Singapore Daily » Blog Archive » Weekly Roundup: Week 49




Leave a comment